exploring art and writing

Science.

In Fine Arts, Identity, Life on June 15, 2012 at 6:40 pm

Finally!

There comes a time in everyone’s life when they realise that they have no idea what they’re doing.

As you may have realised from my previous blog post (and from the prolonged, empty cyber-gap on this site between then and now), I reached that point a few months ago.

It’s been quite a fascinating experience. I haven’t written a single, solitary word. I haven’t bothered with even a page of literature*. The only films I’ve watched have been along the lines of Kung-Pow and Superstar: Dare to Dream! which we all know are not really films; they are things created solely for the purposes of procrastination and despair.

This has to change. Last week, as I was writing a reserve note for a customer at work I spelled the word ‘call’ wrong. And the word ‘please’. Hopefully I gained points for attempting to use pleasantries, but the degeneration of my skills is still pretty impressive.

So now I finally have it: scientific proof that literature and writing improves intelligence. I have to read in order to be able to spell four letter words.

I suppose what I’m trying to say is that I’ve missed all that stuff. The syntactically complex sentences; the long, meaningful gazes between art-house characters; the questioning of what that painting fucking means. I think it’s time to welcome pretention back into my life once more.

So…I’ve missed you, arty stuff. Welcome back into my life.

*This is a lie. In February I read Caitlin Moran’s How to Be a Woman, but as it’s technically a humour book I’m choosing to consider it invalid; books that make you snort coffee out of your nose don’t count.

  1. Hi Lucy. Good to hear your words again. I used to forget how to write over the long summer holidays.

  2. I was only discussing this earlier- how I long to have a discussion about the latest Grayson perry programme or browse the summer exhibition. I dream about the ‘corridor collection’ that matt created on the third year! All is there for the taking lucy!

    • I’ve been meaning to watch the Grayson Perry programme on catch-up! (I’m terrible at remembering to watch stuff). Well, there’s always Chapter – we could have a social there at some point? I’ll check what films and exhibitions are on.

Leave a comment